Top 5 Peter Pan Retellings

I’ve always been a huge fan of Peter Pan since I was little. Not because of the Disney movie, which I also love. I was obsessed with the 1960 musical starring Mary Martin. My dad would let us watch this over and over no matter how many times we asked for it. I can never get enough of the story, no matter how many retellings I read, how many movies I see.

These are going to be listed in no particular order because I love them all and refuse to choose between them.
1. Tigerlily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

This book wrecked me and I loved it! This isn’t a cheesy YA romance. Told from Tinker Bell’s POV, it tells the story of Peter Pan in a way you’ve never heard before.
2. Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell

Gwen and her friend Olivia are kidnapped by shadows and wisked away to Neverland. Very similar to the Hook and Pan from Once Upon A Time.

3. The Child Theif by Brom

This is definately for adults. Very dark, very graphic. Even I had to put it down a few times.

4. Everland by Wendy Spinale

Dystopian Steampunk Peter Pan. This one is the furthest from the original of all of the retellings I’ve ever read.

5. Peter Panzerfaust by Kurtis J. Wiebe https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13637111-peter-panzerfaust-vol-1?ac=1&from_search=true

Peter Pan set in World War 2. If that description isn’t enough for you then I can’t make you happy.
Let me know your favorite retellings!

Leave a comment